Washington State law, RCW 28A. 225.030, sometimes referred to as the Becca Bill, requires that school districts file truancy petitions with the Juvenile Court when students (up to the age of 17) have accumulated seven unexcused absences in one month or ten unexcused absences in an academic year.Dec 17, 2020
How many unexcused absences can a 13 year old have?
- Under DC law, students between 5 and 13 years old who have 10 or more unexcused absences within a school year will be referred to the Child and Family Services Agency (CFSA) for possible action. The law also requires that students between 14 and 17 years old who have 15 or more unexcused absences within a school year be referred to court for
parent can write an excuse for five (5) total days each semester, but after five (5) total days each semester, a medical excuse will be required from a doctor or other qualified medical practitioner.
How many days can you miss school in Washington state?
Missing just two days of school a month adds up to 18 days over the school year. Under state law, elementary schools are required to conference with parents/guardians when an elementary student has five absences for any reason in a month or ten absences over the course of the year.
How many excused absences are allowed in GA?
As of July 1, 2004, Georgia’s Compulsory School Attendance Law 20-2-690.1 became much stricter in regard to truancy. The new law states that more than five (5) unexcused absences constitute truancy.
Are excused absences count against you?
Medically excused absences do not count towards the parent’s 10 excused absences. For a medical absence, a slip from the medical provider’s office confirming the appointment or medical absence must be submitted to the school.
How many times can you be absent before it’s considered truancy?
The California Legislature defined a truant in very precise language. In summary, it states that a student missing more than 30 minutes of instruction without an excuse three times during the school year must be classified as a truant and reported to the proper school authority.
How many school days are required in Washington State?
180 school days
What happens if my kid misses too much school?
If your child misses a lot of school
If this does not work, your school might refer your child to a school attendance officer. The school attendance officer will monitor and investigate your child’s attendance. You might receive a warning, an attendance notice or a fine.
How many excused absences can u have?
7 unexcused absences from school in a row or. 10 unexcused absences from school in one school year. If your child misses 1⁄2 a day or more, and the school considers that a “day,” it will count toward the limit.
Is a parent note an excused absence?
Students who report to school late should be accompanied by a doctor’s note or signed in by a parent. Remember that doctor’s notes guarantee excused absences. … If a student is signed out before 30 minutes have passed, he/she will receive an unexcused absence for that class unless a doctor’s note is submitted.
What are excused absences from school in Georgia?
1) Excused: Late arrival to school or class as a result of reasons defined herein as excused absences or as a result of events physically out of one’s control such as inclement weather, documented transportation delays, health related emergencies, power outage, compliance with the court order, etc.