For Minors Under 16: 8 hours of work per day, 40 hours per week up to 6 days a week are permitted when school is off. During a school week, 3 hours of work are permitted per school day (8 hours Friday, Saturday and Sunday) and up to 16 hours per week.
What are the overtime laws in Washington State?
- Washington Overtime Laws. The state recognizes some jobs are not covered by FLSA. These employees are governed by the Washington Minimum Wage Act. The state law contains similar requirements for overtime compensated at a rate of at least at 1.5 times an employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours in excess of 40 in a seven-day workweek.
8 hours of work per day, 40 hours per week up to 6 days a week are permitted when school is off. During a school week, 3 hours of work are permitted per school day (8 hours Friday, Saturday and Sunday) and up to 16 hours per week. For Minors Ages 16 and 17: 8 hours of work per day, 48 per week, 6 days out of the week are permitted.
How many hours can you legally work in a day in Washington state?
What is the latest a minor can work in Washington state?
16-17 years old. Below are hours of work not be exceeded. ** No later than 9 p.m. on more than 2 consecutive nights before a school day. 5 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Can a 17 year old work 60 hours a week?
Employees 17 and older can work any number of hours and any days of the week under the federal law. The only restrictions the FLSA places on 17-year-olds pertain to the jobs or occupations in which they can be employed.
How much can a minor make an hour?
This minimum wage extends to minor-aged workers. As of January 1, 2017, employers with 25 workers or less must pay their employees at least $10.00 for each hour they work. Those employing 26 workers or more are required to pay a minimum wage of $10.50 per hour.
What the longest shift you can legally work?
Presently, no OSHA standard to regulate extended and unusual shifts in the workplace exists. A work period of eight consecutive hours over five days with at least eight hours of rest in between shifts defines a standard shift. Any shift that goes beyond this standard is considered to be extended or unusual.
Are 15 minute breaks required by law in Washington?
Employees must be allowed a paid rest period, free from duties, of at least 10 minutes for every 4 hours worked. Additionally: Employees cannot be required to work more than 3 hours without a rest break. Breaks must be scheduled as close to the midpoint of a work period as possible.
How many hours can a 16 year old work a week in Washington?
Additionally, these teens must work hours that fall between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. (except from June 1 through Labor Day, when working hours extend to 9 p.m.) Teens ages 16-17 may work up to four hours on school days, eight hours Friday through Sunday and 20 hours during school weeks.
Does a 17 year old need a work permit in Washington state?
You must have and post a Minor Work Permit for every workplace where you employ one or more people under 18 years of age. Some work duties are prohibited for minors. … For information about restrictions, visit the Department of Labor and Industries website on youth employment.
What’s the latest a 17 year old can work?
No 16- or 17-year-old can work more than 48 hours in any one week while attending school. They cannot work more than nine hours in any day, unless the 48 hours weekly maximum is worked in five days. In that case, the minor may work nine and 3/5 hours per day.
What is the latest a 16 year old can work?
Minors under 16 may work 8-40 during non-school day or week. 7 p.m. before school day to 7 a.m. on school day (9 p.m. during holidays and summer vacations to 7 a.m.) 11 p.m. to 6:30 a.m., before school day.
Can you work when you are 13 years old?
13-year-old teenagers are often mature enough to work part-time and have an interest in making their own money. However, the legal age to work in most states is 14, leaving 13-year-olds in a unique position. … You can hire your teenager to complete time-consuming household tasks.
Can you be 13 and have a job?
In most states, the legal age to begin working is 14, but a 13-year-old can still perform many part-time jobs, from taking care of younger kids to tending gardens. … While there is no limit to how much a 13-year-old can earn, many states set a restriction on the number of continuous hours a child this age can work.
Can you work if you are 15?
Teen employment laws you should know
Federal child labor laws protect you in the workplace if you’re a minor under the age of 18. 14-year-olds and 15-year-olds can work, but have the most regulations in place–you can’t work more than 18 hours in a school week or 3 hours per day on a school day.
What is the best job for a 15 year old?
Here are a few roles that make great jobs for 14- and 15-year-olds:
- Camp counselor.
- Grocery bagger.
- Ice cream scooper.
- Theater usher.
21 мая 2020 г.