How do you get married at the courthouse in Washington state?
Please follow the instructions below to apply for your marriage license.
- Fill out the application online. Complete the online application. …
- Sign the application in front of a Notary Public. …
- Submit your application and $72 fee by mail. …
- Get married. …
- Return signed marriage certificate and get certified copies.
Can I get married in Washington right now?
60 Day Expiration
When we issue a marriage license, Washington state law requires a three-day waiting period before you can use it. Licenses are valid for 60 days after the three-day waiting period. A license issued today would be valid for use between September 11, 2020 and November 9, 2020.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Washington state?
Approximate processing time: Two weeks. We recommend submitting your completed application and payment at least three weeks before your marriage ceremony in order to receive the marriage license by that date. Download the Marriage License Application (PDF).
How expensive is a courthouse wedding?
Marriage License and Ceremony FeesServiceFeePublic Marriage License$91Confidential Marriage License$85Civil Ceremony$35
Do you need witnesses to get married in Washington state?
Couples planning to getting married in the state of Washington may be obtained a wedding license from any county seat (County Auditor’s) office in Washington State. … Witnesses: Witnesses are not necessary to apply for a license, but state law requires that at least two witnesses be present at the ceremony.
Can you get married online in Washington state?
Step 1: Submit your online marriage application
Marriage licenses issued in Washington are only valid within the state (tip: if you’re getting married on a boat, make sure it is in Washington State waters!) The online application only takes about 20 minutes and is pretty painless.
What documents do you need to get married in Washington state?
ID and Residency Requirement
Most counties in Washington state require a picture ID, such as a driver’s license, state-issued ID, passport, or military ID. You should know your Social Security numbers as well. If you do not have one, you will need to sign a declaration stating so on the application.
Who can legally marry you in Washington state?
Who can Perform the Marriage Ceremony: Washington State Law (RCW 26.04. 050) specifies who can solemnize or officiate marriages, primarily justices, justices and commissioners of the courts and officials of religious organizations.
How do you elope in Washington state?
Per state law, you will need to apply for a marriage license at least 3 days before your elopement date. You can only apply for a license within 60 days of your elopement date. If you are from Washington or if you arrive at least 3 days before your elopement date, you can visit any local office to get one.
Do you have to say vows at a courthouse wedding?
“There was an officiant, and he tried to get to know us a little bit before the ceremony, which was unexpected,” said Stellick. “The officiant had vows prepared, but you’re allowed to say your own vows if you’d like. Rings are still exchanged, if you want, and you can invite people.
What do you wear for a courthouse wedding?
1. Plain satin or silk dress. If you’re opting for a low-key ceremony but don’t want to miss out on wearing a pretty wedding dress, consider shopping an unadorned satin or silk gown. Though they may not be decked out with lace or diamante embellishments, simple gowns are anything but boring.