How Much Is A Speeding Ticket In Washington? (TOP 5 Tips)

The cost of a speeding ticket in Washington depends on the speed limit of where you were caught. If the posted limit is 40 miles per hour (mph) or below, a speeding ticket will cost $125 to $423. If the speed limit is higher than 40 mph, the fines range from $105 to $423.

  • Generally, a speeding citation will cost you up to $250 in fines and an additional $17 in fees. However, the maximum fine is doubled for speeding violations in school and playground crosswalks. Reckless Driving and Other Possible Charges. Depending on the circumstances, speeding could lead to a “reckless driving” conviction. Washington defines reckless driving as operating a vehicle “in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”

What is the fine for speeding in Washington state?

If you are caught speeding in Washington State, you may pay a hefty fine. The fines associated with speeding, when the posted speed limit is 40 mph or lower are: 1-5 mph over–$125. 6-10 mph over–$136.

How fast over the speed limit is reckless driving in Washington state?

So in Washington, if a driver is traveling 26 mph in a 25 mph zone, that person can be arrested (though it is unlikely and unusual). But if you’re allegedly traveling 164 mph on a motorcycle, you are at high risk of getting arrested and charged with reckless driving.

What do I do if I get a speeding ticket in Washington State?

Drivers have three options:

  1. Pay it. This is a terrible option because the ticket will go on your driving record and likely impact your insurance rates.
  2. Ask for a mitigation hearing. With a mitigation hearing, you agree you committed the infraction, but want to explain the circumstances to a judge.
  3. Contest the infraction.
You might be interested:  What Role Did George Washington Play In 1776? (Solved)

How can I get out of a speeding ticket in Washington State?

You can pay a fine, request mitigation, or request a contested hearing. If you want to fight the ticket, then select a contested hearing. You have to check “contested hearing” on the ticket and then return it to the court within 15 calendar days. If you’re late, your license can be suspended.

How are speeding tickets calculated?

Any speed over the speed limit within the first 10 M.P.H. is a fifty (50) dollar fine. The violator is accessed an additional $10.00 for each M.P.H. over ten m.p.h. For example, if the speed limit is 35 M.P.H. and a violator is stopped for traveling 50 m.p.h., the fine would be $100.00.

How much can you go over the speed limit in Washington?

If the posted speed limit is 40 MPH or lower: 16 to 20 mph over the speed limit: $210. 21 to 25 mph over the speed limit: $262. 26 to 30 mph over the speed limit: $313.

How much is a reckless driving ticket in WA?

Reckless driving is considered a serious criminal traffic offense in the State of Washington. As a gross misdemeanor, it carries a maximum sentence of one year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine.

Is speeding a felony in Washington State?

Speeding is rarely ever considered a felony. The only time where a driver may face felony charges due to speeding is if the act of speeding resulted in the death or severe injury of another person.

How much does speeding ticket cost?

Based on the latest 2021 data for state speeding penalties, the average cost of a speeding ticket is $150, and the average increase for full coverage car insurance is $355.

You might be interested:  How far is washington from colorado

Will speeding ticket raise insurance?

The short answer is yes, speeding tickets do affect car insurance premiums.

Can a speeding ticket be dismissed?

The most common situation resulting in dismissal of a speeding ticket typically occurs if you appear in court as required prepared to fight your ticket, but the officer who issued the ticket doesn’t appear. However, some courts do require two or more “no shows” by the officer before considering dismissing the ticket.

Will a speeding ticket for 5 over affect my insurance?

A speeding ticket just over the limit will not only affect your car insurance, but will raise rates almost as much as a more serious ticket. The price of an annual policy with a ticket for driving 5 miles per hour over the limit was only 3.1% lower than one with a ticket for driving 11 to 15 miles per hour over.

Can I go to traffic school for a speeding ticket in Washington?

Washington Traffic Violations Washington motorists who receive a speeding ticket or other traffic violation may be eligible to take traffic school in order to reduce or eliminate the traffic violation from their record.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Adblock
detector