How to Become an Appraiser in Washington
- Complete 154 total hours of qualifying appraisal courses.
- Find and register a supervisory appraiser.
- Apply for the Trainee license.
- Acquire 2,000 hours of experience with a certified appraiser.
- Pass the state exam.
- Upgrade to the Licensed Residential (LR) license.
Mar 5, 2019
How to become a licensed real estate appraiser in Washington State?
- Washington Licensed Real Estate Appraiser. Basic Requirements: Must be 18 years or older and submit a completed application. Training Requirements: 2,000 hours of experience in no fewer than 24 months under the supervision of a certified appraiser.
The Department of Licensing (DOL) is Washington’s state appraisal board that oversees the laws and regulations to obtain and maintain an appraiser’s license. There are currently about 2,600 appraisers that are actively licensed in Washington. From start to finish, it takes about 18 to 24 months. Applicants will need to be 18 years or older.
How do you become a real estate appraiser in Washington state?
Washington Appraisal: Certified General
Experience: 3,000 hours of acceptable appraisal experience in no less than 30 months. A minimum of 1,500 hours of the required experience must be in non-residential appraisal work. College Education: Must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher.
How long does it take to become an appraiser?
You must complete a total of 150 hours of education. The 150 hours includes the 75 hours required for the trainee level and four additional courses: Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 15 hours. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours.
How long does it take to become a certified residential appraiser?
Complete 150 Hours of Coursework
To become a real estate appraiser, the state of California requires you to pass 150 hours of course enrollment. Following these classes is a live proctored exam. You get 3 attempts to pass this exam.
How much does a certified residential appraiser make?
The average income for home appraisers is $60,287 as of 2020, according to PayScale, although a certified residential real estate appraiser may earn $150,000 or more, as they become more experienced. 1 A trainee earns considerably less with annual earnings before taxes as low as $20,000.
How much do home inspectors make in Washington state?
How Much Does a Home Inspector Make in Washington? The average annual salary for a home inspector in the state of Washington is $69,260 per year or $33.30 per hour. Of course, if average is your goal, you won’t be self employed for long.
How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Washington state?
You must successfully complete 90 hours of approved real estate education within a two-year time frame before you can take the broker’s exam. The 90 hours of education must consist of a 60-hour course in Real Estate Fundamentals and a 30-hour course in Real Estate Practices.
Do you need a college degree to become an appraiser?
Appraisers almost always need an associate’s degree. Advanced positions may require a bachelor’s degree. Some community colleges may offer associate’s degree programs in real estate or real estate appraisal.
What is the difference between a certified residential appraiser and a certified general appraiser?
Both are trained to figure out the value of a residential building, but the certified appraiser can appraise more valuable properties and more complex ones. Each career level has its own educational requirements and mandated work experience.
Does an appraiser need a license?
All states require appraisers to be state licensed or certified in order to provide appraisals to federally regulated lenders. … To become licensed or certified, you must pass an examination that is administered by your state’s appraisal board.
Is it worth becoming an appraiser?
Real estate appraising can be a rewarding profession. If you are a field appraiser like many appraisers, you have the opportunity to own your own business, even from a home office. Your income is fee based, so getting paid is never dependent on the successful closing of a loan.
What are the educational requirements to become a general certified appraiser?
Per the AQB, the minimum requirements to become a certified general appraiser are 300 hours of qualifying education, 3,000 hours of field experience in no fewer than 30 months; at least 1,500 hours in non-residential and a Bachelor’s degree or higher. However, some states may have additional requirements.