How do I buy a car privately in WA?
Buy a vehicle (transfer licence)
- Complete the vehicle licence transfer form with the seller. Step info.
- Obtain licence papers and immobiliser information. Step info.
- Complete the declaration form, if not exempt (Form VL191) Step info.
- Submit forms and proof of identification. Step info.
- Pay vehicle licence duty and transfer fee. Step info.
Do you need a license to buy a car in Washington?
In order to legally sell cars in the state of Washington, the Department of Licensing in Washington State requires you to get a Washington Car Dealer License. Washington residents are legally allowed to sell up to four vehicles per year without being licensed, as long as the vehicles are registered in their name.
Do I have to pay sales tax on a used car in Washington state?
If you are a Washington resident and purchase a vehicle outside this state that you then bring into Washington, you owe use tax on the value of that vehicle. Use tax is the same rate as sales tax and is due when property is brought into Washington if sales tax was not paid.
Can you return a used car in Washington state?
You can return a used car that develops problems that cannot be fixed to the manufacturer for a replacement or repurchase, under Washington state’s lemon law. You must have made at least of four attempts to repair your defective vehicle to qualify your car as a lemon. Also, this must be within your warranty period.
How do I transfer ownership of a car in WA?
Buy, sell or transfer a vehicle
- Use the DoTDirect online system or download the form and follow the step by step instructions. To register for DoTDirect you will need your WA driver’s licence, a valid email address and your vehicle details. …
- Buy, sell or transfer a vehicle online.
- Page reviewed 2 December 2019.
- Related services and information.
How can I get out of my car contract WA?
You can withdraw from the contract at any time before you are told by the dealer that the contract has been accepted. At the moment there is no ‘cooling-off’ period for vehicle contracts in Western Australia. If you are unsure about your rights under the contract you should contact our call centre on 1300 304 054.
How much does it cost to transfer a car title in WA?
The cost to transfer a title is $15.50 plus sales/use tax on purchase price. Purchase price must be within $2,000 of fair market value. Sales tax is not charged on gift transactions as long as DOL gift requirements are met. License subagents charge an extra fee of $12.00 to provide licensing services to your community.
What is needed to register a car in Washington?
Registering in Person
- A signed Vehicle Certificate of Ownership (Title) Application (Form TD-420-001). …
- Your out-of-state vehicle title. …
- The odometer disclosure statement for vehicles up to 10 years old.
- A bill of sale or dealer purchase agreement, if you have owned the vehicle for less than 90 days.
How do you license a car in Washington state?
How to Register a Car in Washington
- A signed copy of the Vehicle Certificate of Ownership Application.
- You will also need a lien holder agreement that has you name on it if you are still paying on the car.
- An odometer disclosure statement.
- Your emissions testing paperwork.
- Bill of sale if the car has just been purchased.
How much is sales tax on a used car in Washington state?
The state of Washington taxes all sales of automobiles at a rate of 6.5 percent, which is the standard retail sales tax. In addition, Washington county taxes are applied as well at a rate of 0.3 percent of the sales price. The tax money collected is allocated toward various state funded services like road maintenance.
Do I keep my plates when selling a car in Washington?
The title – also known as the “pink slip.” It’s the certificate that proves you own the car. A Washington bill of sale – You can use Form TD-420-065, which you can download from the DOL’s website, here. … Keep the license plates – Remember that the plates stay with you, not the car.
Is a bill of sale required in Washington State?
In Washington, a bill of sale is required to sell, purchase, and register a vehicle or vessel. The Washington Department of Licensing (DOL) provides an official form, the Vehicle/Vessel Bill of Sale, or Form TD-420-065, which serves both purposes.
Does Washington state have a buyers remorse law?
Washington state has no “cooling off period” during which a customer can renege on an agreement to purchase a car, according to the state’s Department of Licensing. Contracts to buy vehicles in the state apply the moment the customer signs the agreement unless otherwise specified in the contract.
How many days do you have to return a used car in Washington state?
If you cancel within 10 days, you should receive a full refund. A full refund minus a cancellation fee must be provided to you if you cancel more than 10 days but less than 30 days of purchase and have made no claims under the contract.