Washington state’s eviction moratorium will end Oct. 31, unless Gov. Jay Inslee decides to extend it again. The moratorium was originally set to expire at the end of September, but Inslee extended it another month, saying it would give local municipalities more time to distribute rental assistance aid.
- Washington renters can be evicted from their homes since the statewide moratorium expired on June 30, 2021. If you receive a notice to quit from your landlord, or an eviction lawsuit, reach out for legal help. Can my utilities be shut off during COVID-19 in Washington?
Is the rent moratorium extended in Washington state?
SEATTLE — After nearly 20 months of protections, the threat of evictions has returned for renters across Washington state. Though the extension ends for the state, cities of Burien, Kenmore and Seattle have pushed their eviction moratoriums into January 2022. The statewide eviction moratorium was set to end Sept. 30.
What happens when the eviction moratorium ends in Washington State?
You will have to pay back any missed rent through a payment plan once the moratorium ends. Landlords are required to present a personalized, reasonable repayment plan for any rent missed during the moratorium.
Can you get evicted right now in Washington state?
Eviction law continues to change. The Washington state eviction moratorium ended June 30, 2021. The “bridge” proclamation, where the Governor continued temporary protections for tenants with unpaid rent due, has also ended as of October 31, 2021. Evictions for not being able to pay rent are allowed again.
How long does the eviction process take in Washington state?
Evictions in Washington State generally take around three weeks from start to finish, but this can vary. There are many variables that impact the length of time the eviction process will take. Below is a sample timeline for eviction due to non-payment of rent.
What happens when moratorium ends?
Once the moratorium ends, tenants are expected to pay back rent, unless they’ve come to some other agreement with their landlord. The eviction moratorium doesn’t prevent evictions for other reasons. Residents engaged in criminal activity or endangering other residents, for example, may still be evicted.
When did eviction moratorium end?
Congress declared a moratorium on evictions at the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic, but it lapsed in July 2020.
Can my landlord raise my rent during the pandemic?
If you live in unsubsidized, private housing (rent-controlled or not), your landlord cannot increase your rent during the public health emergency. Your landlord cannot issue you a rent increase notice during the public health emergency, even if the rent increase would take place after the end of the emergency.
How much can a landlord raise rent in Washington State 2021?
Because rent control is illegal in Washington State (RCW 35.21. 830) landlords can raise the rent as much as they want as long as they comply with the appropriate notice period and have not issued the notice to discriminate or retaliate against the tenant.
Do you have 30 days after eviction notice?
Your landlord must give you a written Eviction Notice, sometimes called a “Notice To Quit.” If you do not have a lease, the Notice will tell you that you have either 7 days or 30 days to move out. A verbal eviction notice is generally not legal. Keep your eviction notice.
Can landlord evict you for late rent?
If you owe rent If your rent is late by even one day, your landlord can try to evict you. Your payment must also include any rent that comes due after the date on the notice. If you don’t pay everything that you owe by the deadline, your landlord can apply to the Landlord and Tenant Board (LTB) to evict you.