How old do you have to be to operate a boat in Washington State?
- (1) No person shall operate or permit the operation of motor driven boats and vessels with a mechanical power of fifteen horsepower or greater unless the person: (a) Is at least twelve years of age, except that an operator of a personal watercraft shall comply with the age requirements under RCW 79A.60.190; and
Which of the following actions is legal when operating a PWC?
A PWC operator must always face forward. A PWC must be operated in a responsible manner. Maneuvers that endanger people or property are prohibited, including: Jumping a wake with a PWC within 100 feet of another vessel.
Which of the following is a legal requirement for boating operation?
California Boating Laws and Regulations California law requires a person to be 16 years of age or older and in possession of his/her California Boater Card to legally operate a vessel powered by a motor of 15 hp or more, including personal watercraft (PWCs).
What is required to operate a boat in Washington?
Find your local boating laws. Anyone 12 years old and older may operate a motorboat of 15 horsepower and greater with a Washington Boater Education Card. Without a card, the person must be supervised by someone at least 16 years old, who is carrying a Boater Education Card.
Which of the following is a legal reason to report a boating?
According to state law, a boat owner/operator must report their boat accident to California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) if the accident results in death, disappearance or injury to a person requiring medical attention beyond first aid, damage to a vessel or other property exceeding $500 or
Which of the following equipment is required for motorized vessels operating in Washington?
Washington Boater Education Card —mandatory for boats with motors 15 (or more) horsepower. Throwable flotation device. Type B-1 fire extinguisher. Visual distress signals—day and night time.
What should the operator of a stand on vessel do when encountering a give way vessel?
Stand-on vessel: The vessel that must maintain its course and speed unless it becomes apparent that the give-way vessel is not taking appropriate action. If you must take action, do not turn toward the give-way vessel or cross in front of it.
Which of the following actions is required of boat a while overtaking boat B?
Vessel A is overtaking and is the give-way vessel. Vessel B is the stand-on vessel. As the give-way vessel, A must take EARLY and SUBSTANTIAL action to keep clear of the stand-on vessel B. If both vessels are power-driven, sound signals are required.
Which of the following actions is required of boat a when approaching boat B head on in darkness or reduced visibility?
Give way to your starboard side. Powerboat B: When white, red and green lights are visible, you are approaching a powerboat head-on. Give way to your starboard side. Powerboat A: When only red and green lights are visible, you are approaching a sailboat head-on.
Which of the following actions should you take when operating in bad weather?
Staying Safe in Stormy Weather If you get caught in a storm, take the following actions: Step 1) Make sure every passenger is wearing a life jacket. Step 2) Reduce your speed and maintain your movement forward. Step 3) Turn on your required navigation lights—you may not be the only boater out there.
Which of the following vessels is exempt from the Washington State vessel registration requirement?
In Washington, you must have a Washington title, current registration certificate, and current registration decals to operate or moor a vessel. Exceptions to registration and titling are: Vessels that are not propelled by a motor (canoes, kayaks, etc.) and sailboats under 16 feet in length without a motor.
Which vessel operators are required to have Washington boater education card?
All operators born on or after January 1, 1955, must have the Washington Boater Education Card to operate a vessel powered by a motor of 15 or more horsepower. Anyone under the age of 12 years may not legally operate a vessel powered by a motor of 15 or more horsepower.
What should boater do when operating a vessel on different waterways Boat Ed?
When you travel on waterways with other vessels, you are at risk because paddlecraft are small and difficult to see. Do not assume that other operators see you. Your primary responsibility is to keep a sharp lookout and avoid a collision. Always be sure other boaters are aware of your presence.
Which of the following is an example of illegal operation in Washington state?
Washington law states that the following dangerous operating practices are illegal: Assault by watercraft. Homicide by watercraft. Negligent operation.
Which of the following is required to operate a boat in Texas?
Texas Boating License Age In Texas, in order to operate a motorboat, a windblown vessel or a PWC, an operator must meet the following requirements: The operator is at least 13 years of age; and. The operator has passed a safety course approved by the Texas Parks and Wildlife (TPWD).
Which of the following boating accidents must be reported in writing to the Division of Boating and Waterways?
California law State law requires a boater involved in an accident to submit a written accident report to the Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) when there is a death, disappearance or injury requiring medical care beyond first aid or property damage totaling more than $500.