Take the Report of Sale to your local auto licensing office. You can tear the report of sale form off from the car’s “certificate of ownership” (title). You can also get a form at any auto licensing office, or report the sale online.
How do I report the sale of a car in Washington?
- You can report the sale online, either through your Washington DOL License eXpress account or using the online form, or in person at any vehicle licensing office. You are required to report the sale within 5 business days from the date you sold the car. There is a fee of $13.25 to report you no longer have your vehicle.
How do I notify DMV that I sold my car?
When a vehicle is sold (or otherwise transferred) you, the seller, are required to:
- complete a sold notice on AZ MVD Now.
- sign off the back of the title and have your signature notarized.
- remove the license plate from the vehicle and contact MVD to transfer it to another vehicle you own, or destroy it.
What to do when you sell your car in Washington?
How to Sell a Car in Washington
- Step 1: Allow the Buyer to Have the Car Inspected by a Third Party.
- Step 2: Clean Out the Vehicle.
- Step 3: Remove the License Plates.
- Step 4: Complete a Bill of Sale.
- Step 5: Collect Payment from the Seller.
- Step 6: Sign the Title to Formally Transfer Ownership.
- Step 7: File a Report of Sale.
Do I need to return my Washington license plates?
Washington. Keep your plates. You may transfer the plate to another vehicle titled and registered in your name in Washington state through the Washington Department of Licensing.
What do you do after you sell your car?
What to do after you sell your car
- Do a final check and clear out the car. Do a sweep and make sure you got everything out of the vehicle.
- Get a bill of sale.
- Get a DMV “release of liability”
- Cancel your insurance.
- Transfer or cancel any e-toll collection.
What paperwork do I need to sell my car DMV?
Here’s a checklist of what you should have ready as you start the selling process:
- Vehicle history report.
- Maintenance records.
- Warranty documentation.
- As-Is documentation.
- Odometer disclosure.
- Bill of Sale.
What paperwork do I need to sell my car in Washington?
If you are selling your car in Washington, you will need a clean title and a bill of sale. A clean title means it must be legible and intact, with no rips or tears, and you must not have a lien on the vehicle. If you still owe money on your car loan, that doesn’t mean you are out of luck.
Am I responsible for a car after I sell it?
In most states, used car sales are understood to be “as is.” This means the buyer understands that if something goes wrong after the car is driven away, it’s entirely his or her responsibility. That means that, as a seller, you’re not responsible for the car after it’s sold.
What happens if car buyer does not transfer title?
If you sell the car and the buyer doesn’t transfer the title, you could end up with a host of legal problems. Any parking tickets or expired registration or expired tabs tickets will be sent to you. You can try to fight these tickets but there is no guarantee the fines will be dropped.